English Subtitles Bill S-219 ‘Journey to Freedom Day’

Thank you for taking the time to visit my website. I trust that you will find it a useful source of information on the Senate of Canada and the work that I do on and off Parliament Hill.

As the seasons change, I would like to wish all a safe and enjoyable winter. The holidays and chill air provides an opportunity for Canadians across the country to spend time with their family and friends, and to enjoy all the majesty that the Canadian landscape has to offer. Although it is a time when many become restless due to changing weather, I would also like to remind you of the pressing current international issues facing many Canadians today.

Being a strong proponent for human rights, democracy, and the rule of law, I have attended a number of human rights rallies throughout the country protesting against the oppressive Communist regime in Vietnam, which you can follow in my online Gallery.

Bill S-219, the Journey to Freedom Day Act, is currently being reviewed in the House of Commons. This Act recognizes April 30th as a national day of commemoration of the exodus of Vietnamese refugees and their acceptance in Canada after the fall of Saigon in 1975 and the end of the Vietnam War. For more information on Bill S-219, please click here.

As a firm believer in community involvement I have had the pleasure and privilege of attending many wonderful events across the nation and meeting Canadians from all walks of life.

Thank you for taking the time to visit my website. I trust that you will find it a useful source of information on the Senate of Canada and the work that I do on and off Parliament Hill.

I invite you to navigate my website for additional information about me including a brief biography, my statements in the Senate, news releases, photos, the issues I am working on, and links to other areas of interest.

I believe it is important for Canadians to understand the important work that my colleagues and I are doing at the Senate. Please check back often, as I will be updating this site frequently to provide timely information concerning issues affecting the people of Ontario and all Canadians.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact my office at: 613-943-1599 (1-800-267-7362) or email at ngoth@sen.parl.gc.ca

Thank you for visiting!

Yours sincerely,

signature

Date: 18 January 2015 at 16:28
Subject: Letter of Objection to Bill S-219
Kính thưa quý đồng hương khắp nơi trên thế giới,

Để duy trì và bảo vệ tính trung thực về lịch sử của sự kiện 30/4/1975, ngày 30 tháng 4 phải được gọi là “30 Tháng 4 Đen” (Black April 30th). Ngày này không thể được thay thế bằng bất cứ tên gọi nào khác. Lại càng không thể được đổi tên thành “Ngày Hành trình tới tự do” (Journey to Freedom Day) như dự luật bill S-219 được đề nghị bởi TNS Ngô Thanh Hải. Dự luật bill S-219 này sẽ được các vị dân biểu ở hạ viện Canada biểu quyết vào một ngày rất gần đây.

Thời gian qua, cộng đồng người Việt tại Hoa Kỳ đã vài lần phản đối thành công các dự luật đổi tên Ngày Quốc Hận tức 30 tháng 4 Đen của chúng ta. Xin nghiêng mình cảm ơn sự tranh đấu của quý đồng hương. Hôm nay, với lá thư này, chúng tôi tha thiết kêu gọi quý vị ký tên vào thư đã được soạn sẵn dưới đây hoặc tự viết để gửi cho các dân biểu ở hạ viện Canada nhằm vận động họ không thông qua dự luật này.

Xin trân trọng cảm ơn!

Giáo Hội Phật giáo Hòa Hảo Calgary

Khuôn Hội Phật giáo Yên Tử Calgary

Tuổi Trẻ Yêu Nước Hải Ngoại Canada

Phần hướng dẫn gửi thư tới các dân biểu Canada bằng email:

1) Mở new mail

2) Copy địa chỉ email của các dân biểu và để vào “To”, click Paste

3) Copy câu “Letter of Objection to Bill S-219” để cho vào phần “Subject”, click Paste

4) Copy phần thư đã soạn sẵn dưới đây để cho vào phần viết thư, click Paste

5) Đánh tên & địa chỉ của quý vị ở dưới chữ “Yours sincerely,” tại cuối thư của phần tiếng Anh.

6) Click “Send”

Địa chỉ emails của các dân biểu Canada: highlight toàn bộ những email dưới đây, Copy, để vào “To”, click Paste.

diane.ablonczy@parl.gc.ca; Eve.Adams@parl.gc.ca; Mark.Adler@parl.gc.ca; leona.aglukkaq@parl.gc.ca; Dan.Albas@parl.gc.ca; harold.albrecht@parl.gc.ca; Chris.Alexander@parl.gc.ca; malcolm.allen@parl.gc.ca; mike.allen@parl.gc.ca; dean.allison@parl.gc.ca;Stella.Ambler@parl.gc.ca; rona.ambrose@parl.gc.ca; rob.anders@parl.gc.ca; david.anderson@parl.gc.ca; scott.andrews@parl.gc.ca;

charlie.angus@parl.gc.ca; scott.armstrong@parl.gc.ca; keith.ashfield@parl.gc.ca; niki.ashton@parl.gc.ca; Jay.Aspin@parl.gc.ca; alex.atamanenko@parl.gc.ca; Robert.Aubin@parl.gc.ca; Paulina.Ayala@parl.gc.ca; john.baird@parl.gc.ca; John.Barlow@parl.gc.ca; Joyce.Bateman@parl.gc.ca; mauril.belanger@parl.gc.ca; andre.bellavance@parl.gc.ca; carolyn.bennett@parl.gc.ca; leon.benoit@parl.gc.ca; Tyrone.Benskin@parl.gc.ca; candice.bergen@parl.gc.ca; maxime.bernier@parl.gc.ca; dennis.bevington@parl.gc.ca; james.bezan@parl.gc.ca; Denis.Blanchette@parl.gc.ca; Lysane.Blanchette-Lamothe@parl.gc.ca; steven.blaney@parl.gc.ca; kelly.block@parl.gc.ca; Francoise.Boivin@parl.gc.ca; Charmaine.Borg@parl.gc.ca; ray.boughen@parl.gc.ca; Alexandre.Boulerice@parl.gc.ca; Marjolaine.Boutin-Sweet@parl.gc.ca; Tarik.Brahmi@parl.gc.ca; peter.braid@parl.gc.ca; garry.breitkreuz@parl.gc.ca; scott.brison@parl.gc.ca; RuthEllen.Brosseau@parl.gc.ca; gord.brown@parl.gc.ca; lois.brown@parl.gc.ca; patrick.brown@parl.gc.ca; rod.bruinooge@parl.gc.ca; Brad.Butt@parl.gc.ca; gerry.byrne@parl.gc.ca; paul.calandra@parl.gc.ca; blaine.calkins@parl.gc.ca; ron.cannan@parl.gc.ca; John.Carmichael@parl.gc.ca; Guy.Caron@parl.gc.ca; colin.carrie@parl.gc.ca; Sean.Casey@parl.gc.ca; Andrew.Cash@parl.gc.ca; Arnold.Chan@parl.gc.ca; chris.charlton@parl.gc.ca; Sylvain.Chicoine@parl.gc.ca; Robert.Chisholm@parl.gc.ca; Corneliu.Chisu@parl.gc.ca; michael.chong@parl.gc.ca; Francois.Choquette@parl.gc.ca; david.christopherson@parl.gc.ca; rob.clarke@parl.gc.ca; Ryan.Cleary@parl.gc.ca; tony.clement@parl.gc.ca; joe.comartin@parl.gc.ca; Raymond.Cote@parl.gc.ca; irwin.cotler@parl.gc.ca; Joan.Crockatt@parl.gc.ca; jean.crowder@parl.gc.ca; nathan.cullen@parl.gc.ca; rodger.cuzner@parl.gc.ca; joe.daniel@parl.gc.ca; Pat.davidson@parl.gc.ca; don.davies@parl.gc.ca; libby.davies@parl.gc.ca; Anne-Marie.Day@parl.gc.ca; bob.dechert@parl.gc.ca;

barry.devolin@parl.gc.ca; paul.dewar@parl.gc.ca; stephane.dion@parl.gc.ca; Pierre.DionneLabelle@parl.gc.ca; fin.donnelly@parl.gc.ca; Rosane.DoreLefebvre@parl.gc.ca; earl.dreeshen@parl.gc.ca; Matthew.Dube@parl.gc.ca; Emmanuel.Dubourg@parl.gc.ca; john.duncan@parl.gc.ca; kirsty.duncan@parl.gc.ca; linda.duncan@parl.gc.ca; Pierre-Luc.Dusseault@parl.gc.ca; rick.dykstra@parl.gc.ca; wayne.easter@parl.gc.ca; Jim.Eglinski@parl.gc.ca;

mark.eyking@parl.gc.ca; Ted.Falk@parl.gc.ca; julian.fantino@parl.gc.ca; ed.fast@parl.gc.ca; Kerry-Lynne.Findlay@parl.gc.ca; diane.finley@parl.gc.ca; steven.fletcher@parl.gc.ca; judy.foote@parl.gc.ca; Jean-Francois.Fortin@parl.gc.ca; Chrystia.Freeland@parl.gc.ca; Mylene.Freeman@parl.gc.ca; hedy.fry@parl.gc.ca; royal.galipeau@parl.gc.ca; cheryl.gallant@parl.gc.ca; marc.garneau@parl.gc.ca; Randall.Garrison@parl.gc.ca; Rejean.Genest@parl.gc.ca; Jonathan.Genest-Jourdain@parl.gc.ca; Alain.Giguere@parl.gc.ca; Parm.Gill@parl.gc.ca; shelly.glover@parl.gc.ca; yvon.godin@parl.gc.ca; Robert.Goguen@parl.gc.ca; peter.goldring@parl.gc.ca; ralph.goodale@parl.gc.ca; gary.goodyear@parl.gc.ca; Bal.Gosal@parl.gc.ca; jacques.gourde@parl.gc.ca; claude.gravelle@parl.gc.ca; nina.grewal@parl.gc.ca; Sadia.Groguhe@parl.gc.ca; stephen.harper@parl.gc.ca; Dan.Harris@parl.gc.ca; jack.harris@parl.gc.ca; richard.harris@parl.gc.ca; Sana.Hassainia@parl.gc.ca; laurie.hawn@parl.gc.ca; Bryan.Hayes@parl.gc.ca; russ.hiebert@parl.gc.ca; Jim.Hillyer@parl.gc.ca; randy.hoback@parl.gc.ca; ed.holder@parl.gc.ca; Ted.Hsu@parl.gc.ca; carol.hughes@parl.gc.ca; bruce.hyer@parl.gc.ca; Pierre.Jacob@parl.gc.ca; Roxanne.James@parl.gc.ca; Yvonne.Jones@parl.gc.ca; peter.julian@parl.gc.ca; randy.kamp@parl.gc.ca; gerald.keddy@parl.gc.ca;

Matthew.Kellway@parl.gc.ca; jason.kenney@parl.gc.ca; peter.kent@parl.gc.ca; greg.kerr@parl.gc.ca; ed.komarnicki@parl.gc.ca; daryl.kramp@parl.gc.ca; mike.lake@parl.gc.ca; kevin.lamoureux@parl.gc.ca; Francois.Lapointe@parl.gc.ca; Jean-Francois.Larose@parl.gc.ca; Alexandrine.Latendresse@parl.gc.ca; guy.lauzon@parl.gc.ca; Helene.Laverdiere@parl.gc.ca; denis.lebel@parl.gc.ca; dominic.leblanc@parl.gc.ca; Helene.LeBlanc@parl.gc.ca; Ryan.Leef@parl.gc.ca; Kellie.Leitch@parl.gc.ca; pierre.lemieux@parl.gc.ca; megan.leslie@parl.gc.ca; Chungsen.Leung@parl.gc.ca; Laurin.Liu@parl.gc.ca; Wladyslaw.Lizon@parl.gc.ca; ben.lobb@parl.gc.ca; tom.lukiwski@parl.gc.ca; james.lunney@parl.gc.ca; lawrence.macaulay@parl.gc.ca; peter.mackay@parl.gc.ca; dave.mackenzie@parl.gc.ca; Larry.Maguire@parl.gc.ca; Hoang.Mai@parl.gc.ca; wayne.marston@parl.gc.ca; pat.martin@parl.gc.ca; brian.masse@parl.gc.ca; irene.mathyssen@parl.gc.ca; Elizabeth.May@parl.gc.ca; colin.mayes@parl.gc.ca; john.mccallum@parl.gc.ca; phil.mccoleman@parl.gc.ca; david.mcguinty@parl.gc.ca; john.mckay@parl.gc.ca; cathy.mcleod@parl.gc.ca; Costas.Menegakis@parl.gc.ca; Elaine.Michaud@parl.gc.ca; larry.miller@parl.gc.ca; Christine.Moore@parl.gc.ca; james.moore@parl.gc.ca; rob.moore@parl.gc.ca; Dany.Morin@parl.gc.ca; Isabelle.Morin@parl.gc.ca; Marc-Andre.Morin@parl.gc.ca; Marie-Claude.Morin@parl.gc.ca; maria.mourani@parl.gc.ca; thomas.mulcair@parl.gc.ca; joyce.murray@parl.gc.ca; Pierre.Nantel@parl.gc.ca; Peggy.Nash@parl.gc.ca; Jamie.Nicholls@parl.gc.ca; rob.nicholson@parl.gc.ca; rick.norlock@parl.gc.ca; Jose.Nunez-Melo@parl.gc.ca; deepak.obhrai@parl.gc.ca; gordon.oconnor@parl.gc.ca; Joe.Oliver@parl.gc.ca; tilly.oneillgordon@parl.gc.ca; Ted.Opitz@parl.gc.ca; Erin.OToole@parl.gc.ca; massimo.pacetti@parl.gc.ca; Annick.Papillon@parl.gc.ca; christian.paradis@parl.gc.ca; Claude.Patry@parl.gc.ca; lavar.payne@parl.gc.ca; Eve.Peclet@parl.gc.ca; Pat.Perkins@parl.gc.ca; Manon.Perreault@parl.gc.ca; Francois.Pilon@parl.gc.ca; louis.plamondon@parl.gc.ca;

pierre.poilievre@parl.gc.ca; joe.preston@parl.gc.ca; AnneMinh-Thu.Quach@parl.gc.ca; john.rafferty@parl.gc.ca; lisa.raitt@parl.gc.ca; james.rajotte@parl.gc.ca; Murray.Rankin@parl.gc.ca; brent.rathgeber@parl.gc.ca; Mathieu.Ravignat@parl.gc.ca; Francine.Raynault@parl.gc.ca; geoff.regan@parl.gc.ca; scott.reid@parl.gc.ca; Michelle.Rempel@parl.gc.ca; blake.richards@parl.gc.ca; greg.rickford@parl.gc.ca; gerry.ritz@parl.gc.ca; Jean.Rousseau@parl.gc.ca; Romeo.Saganash@parl.gc.ca; Jasbir.Sandhu@parl.gc.ca; andrew.saxton@parl.gc.ca; francis.scarpaleggia@parl.gc.ca; andrew.scheer@parl.gc.ca; gary.schellenberger@parl.gc.ca; craig.scott@parl.gc.ca; kyle.seeback@parl.gc.ca; djaouida.sellah@parl.gc.ca; judy.sgro@parl.gc.ca; gail.shea@parl.gc.ca; bev.shipley@parl.gc.ca; devinder.shory@parl.gc.ca; scott.simms@parl.gc.ca; jinny.sims@parl.gc.ca; rathika.sitsabaiesan@parl.gc.ca; joy.smith@parl.gc.ca; robert.sopuck@parl.gc.ca;

kevin.sorenson@parl.gc.ca; bruce.stanton@parl.gc.ca; lise.st-denis@parl.gc.ca; kennedy.stewart@parl.gc.ca; peter.stoffer@parl.gc.ca; brian.storseth@parl.gc.ca; mark.strahl@parl.gc.ca; mike.sullivan@parl.gc.ca; David.Sweet@parl.gc.ca; glenn.thibeault@parl.gc.ca; david.tilson@parl.gc.ca; lawrence.toet@parl.gc.ca; philip.toone@parl.gc.ca; jonathan.tremblay@parl.gc.ca; brad.trost@parl.gc.ca; Bernard.Trottier@parl.gc.ca; justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca; susan.truppe@parl.gc.ca; nycole.turmel@parl.gc.ca; tim.uppal@parl.gc.ca; bernard.valcourt@parl.gc.ca; frank.valeriote@parl.gc.ca; dave.vankesteren@parl.gc.ca; peter.vanloan@parl.gc.ca; adam.vaughan@parl.gc.ca; maurice.vellacott@parl.gc.ca; mike.wallace@parl.gc.ca; mark.warawa@parl.gc.ca; chris.warkentin@parl.gc.ca; jeff.watson@parl.gc.ca; john.weston.c1e@parl.gc.ca; rodney.weston@parl.gc.ca; david.wilks@parl.gc.ca; john.williamson@parl.gc.ca; alice.wong@parl.gc.ca; stephen.woodworth@parl.gc.ca; Lynne.Yelich@parl.gc.ca; terence.young@parl.gc.ca; Wai.Young@parl.gc.ca; david.yurdiga@parl.gc.ca; Bob.Zimmer@parl.gc.ca;

Copy câu này bỏ vào “subject”: Letter of Objection to Bill S-219

Copy nội dung thư này bỏ vào email:

LETTER OF OBJECTION TO BILL S-219

January 19th, 2015

Honourable Member of Parliament
House of Commons
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, K1A 0A6

Dear Sir/Madam,

We acknowledge that Bill S-219 was just passed by The Senate, to name April 30th as “Journey to Freedom Day” instead of « Black April 30th « .
We, concerned Vietnamese Canadians, would like to express our deep disappointment regarding Bill S-219 for the name « Black 30th April » evokes not only the exodus of Vietnamese refugees but also the fall of Saigon on that day of 1975 and all the dark events in the aftermath.

1- April 30th, 1975 marks the « Fall of Saigon », the darkest page in our Vietnamese history when the Communists took over the South of Vietnam. President Ronald Reagan said: “…. ending a conflict is not so simple, not just calling it off and coming home, because the price for that kind of peace could be a thousand years of darkness for generations’ Vietnam born… »

2- April 30th, 1975 is the day the Vietnamese people began to suffer the brutal policies of the Vietnamese Communist Party that led to
a) hundred thousands of South Vietnamese officers and civil servants, even monks, priests and businessmen executed, detained in hard labour, re-education concentration camps for many years. Many of them died of starvation, torture, illness, and many other causes.
b) more than 80 million Vietnamese people from that day till now, living in fear, without human rights, in poverty, under the rules of a corrupted communist regime that put the welfare of the Party above the nation’s.
c) the Vietnamese Diaspora in which hundreds of thousands lost their lives on the high sea, on land, in prison fleeing the communist regime.

3- “Black April 30th” is the name the Vietnamese victims of communism, designated for the 30th April 1975 and now accepted worldwide. To the Vietnamese people, “Black April 30th” carries the same meaning as the Holocaust Day to the Jews.
For that reason the communist government of Vietnam for years have been and still are determined to erase the “Black April 30th”in our vocabulary, in our memory. Passing the Bill
S-219 naming April 30th as “Journey to Freedom Day” would give them that satisfaction, but break the heart and the trust of the Vietnamese all over the world, who peacefully fight for Democracy, for Human Rights, and for Freedom in Vietnam.

For all the reasons cited above, we, concerned Canadians, earnestly request the House of Commons of Canada to respect the name « Black April 30th » for the day April 30th of each year. Please do not give a different name to that day. Please do not pass Bill S-219.
Thank you for your consideration.

Yours Sincerely,

Traduction

LETTRE D’OPPOSITION AU PROJET DE LOI S-219

Nous venons d’apprendre que le Sénat, le 10 Décembre 2014, a adopté le projet de loi S-219, reconnaissant le jour 30 Avril de chaque année comme « Journée du Parcours vers la liberté » au lieu de « 30 Avril Noir ».
Nous, les Canadiens d’origine vietnamienne soussignés, tenons à exprimer notre profonde déception quant au projet de loi S-219 étant donné que le nom « 30 Avril Noir » évoque non seulement l’exode des Vietnamiens mais aussi tous les événements terrifiants infligés sur le peuple Vietnamien par le régime communiste depuis le 30 Avril 1975.

1- Le 30 Avril, 1975 marque la page la plus sombre de l’histoire du Vietnam, le jour de la Chute de Saigon quand les communistes occupaient le Sud du Vietnam. Président Ronald Reagan a dit: « …mettre fin a un conflit n’est pas si simple, pas simplement l’ignorer et rapatrier les soldats parce que le prix de ce genre de paix pourrait être mille ans de répression, de désespoir pour les générations nées au Vietnam.

2- Le 30 Avril 1975 marque le commencement des souffrances, des brutalités, atrocités infligées au peuple Vietnamien par le régime communiste:
a) des centaines de milliers d’officiers, de fonctionnaires, même les moines, les prêtres, les hommes d’affaires du Vietnam du Sud ont été exécutés, détenus pour plusieurs années dans des camps dits rééducation mais c’étaient vraiment des camps de travaux forcés, des camps de concentration. Des milliers de détenus étaient mort de famine, torture, maladie…..
. b) le peuple Vietnamien de 80 millions, a vécu depuis ce jour, dans la terreur, sans droits de l’homme, dans la pauvreté, sous un régime corrompu qui a mis le bien-être du Parti communiste au dessus du bien-être de la nation.
c) la diaspora des Vietnamiens: des centaines de milliers ont péri en mer, en terre, dans les prisons aux cours de l’exode fuyant le régime communiste.

3- Le « 30 Avril Noir » est le nom désigné par les Vietnamiens, victimes du communisme, pour le 30 Avril 1975 et a été accepté dans le monde entier depuis 1975.
Pour le peuple vietnamien le « 30 Avril Noir » a la même signification que l’Holocauste pour les Juifs. Pour cette raison, le gouvernement communiste du Vietnam, depuis des années, est déterminé à l’effacer dans notre vocabulaire, notre mémoire. Adopter le projet de loi S-219, adopter le nom « Journée du parcours ver la liberté » donnerait cette satisfaction au gouvernement communiste, mais briserait le cœur des Vietnamiens (au Vietnam et dispersés dans le monde) qui luttent pacifiquement pour la démocratie, les droits de l’homme, la liberté au Vietnam.

Pour toutes les raisons citées ci-dessus, nous vous prions, Messieurs et Mesdames Député(e)s de respecter le nom « 30 Avril Noir » pour le jour 30 Avril de chaque année. Veuillez ne pas adopter un autre nom à ce jour. Veuillez rejeter le projet de loi S-219.

Nous vous remercions pour votre considération.

Veuillez agréer notre profond respect,

Publicités

Laisser un commentaire

Entrez vos coordonnées ci-dessous ou cliquez sur une icône pour vous connecter:

Logo WordPress.com

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte WordPress.com. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Google+

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Google+. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Image Twitter

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Twitter. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Facebook

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Facebook. Déconnexion /  Changer )

w

Connexion à %s